Du’aa`: I acknowledge my sin, so forgive me

My husband was telling me about the halaqa the brothers did yesterday. I love halaqas where the attendees actually speak, because one thing leads to another – you discuss a lot of different topics without even planning to and everyone participates and is engaged.

Anyways, so he mentioned that they talked about this amazing du’aa`:

From makedua.com

which roughly  means:

‘O Allaah, You are my Lord, none has the right to be worshipped except You, You created me and I am You servant and I abide to Your covenant and promise as best I can, I take refuge in You from the evil of which I committed. I acknowledge Your favour upon me and I acknowledge my sin, so forgive me, for verily none can forgive sin except You.’

Whoever recites this with conviction in the evening and dies during that night shall enter Paradise, and whoever recites it with conviction in the morning and dies during that day shall enter Paradise, Al-Bukhaari 7/150. Other reports are in An-Nasaa’i and At-Tirmidhi.

SubhaanAllah, isn’t that amazing? Of course, that doesn’t mean you give up other good deeds…but such simple things like dhikr give you so much ajr!

I was thinking about this some more later….look at the meaning of what you’re saying: “I abide to Your covenant and promise as best I can. ” If we can honestly recite this du’aa`, then that is an amazing thing, and I can see why you would have Jannah…

This entry was posted in du'aa`. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Du’aa`: I acknowledge my sin, so forgive me

  1. mohammad salah uddin says:

    subhanallah! i am amazed..

Leave a Reply

