Hijaab: The Pressure Factor

Hijaab. I never bothered arguing about the proofs, wherther it was fardh or not. Any person who sincerely researched the topic by looking at the Qur’an, hadith and words of the scholars will know that it’s fardh.

Just recently, I came across sisters who actually believe it to be fardh and wear it, but they want to take it off because they feel pressured to do so. Not because anyone is forcing them to, but because they “feel pressure to wear it.” And they say that their intentions should be solely for Allah.

I’m sorry, but that is THE weirdest reason for not wearing hijaab that I have EVER heard. I was so shcoked and found it (personally) so stupid that I didn’t even think it deserved an answer. To me, if I believe something is the right thing to do – do it; support it; encourage it. Who cares who else is “putting pressure on you”? Ignore them.

But that’s just me.

I’m past the teen years… hehe by about 5 years. Maybe I’ve forgotten the urge to rebel for the sake of rebelling. (Yet another unfortunate by product of culture). Yeah, I used to get annoyed when my parents would ask me to do something – even though I was going to anyway. Even more irritating was being told to do something while doing it. But that’s all it was: annoying. I did not stop what I was doing to prove some retarded point like, “I do what I want to do.” Or “You know, I’m already trying to be a good kid, but obviously you haven’t noticed or don’t care. I might as well rebel.” Lookinig at it that way, rebelling is senseless for its own sake. Have some sabr. Allah loves the patient. And we love to amongst those that Allah loves.

Now walks in the question of sincerity. Are you doing it to please the people and not Allah? No doubt your intentions should be solely for Allah. What do you do if you feel that your sincerity is compromised? Go back and look at why you’re doing it. You believe that it’s fardh and that it should be done for Allah, right? So keep it on!

Say you do take it off. Then what happens? One of 2 things.

  1. Your parents (if the ones pressuring you) accept you anyway. Umm….do you really want parents who will support you in doing something displeasing to Allah? I yell at my husband if he is late for jum’ah becuase I love him and want to help him prepare for a day when no man or woman will help another.
  2. You parents get mad at you….or worse. And, most likely, “or worse” will be the case. What was accomplished? Nothing I can recognize except for the fact that now you know their reaction. Now what do you do? Either:
    • Put it back on to “please” your parents. I don’t know if they’ll ever fully recover or if they’ll look at you the same. And the worse part is: now you know your sincerity for hijaab fi sabeelillah (for the sake of Allah) is compromised.
    • You don’t put it back on. Triple whammy: You’re sinning by not wearing the hijaab and knowing it’s fardh; you left a good deed; your parents are displeased with you. Need I say more?

My best advice to any sisters facing this dilemma is to keep it on. Think about why you are doing it. Pray to Allah sincerely for His help and Guidance. Ask him to purify your intentions solely for His sake.

May Allah subhaana wa ta’aala help all Muslims going through difficulties.

(And again, this post is regarding sisters who already wear the hijaab and believe it to be fardh.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

