Qur’aan Reflections: Two Hearts in One

I took an Arabic class a few months ago with Bayyinah Institute. Alhamdulillah it was a really good class. Learning Arabic is something that I really have to struggle with, so alhamdulillah it was taught in a not-so-typical and easy to learn way. (Keeping up with it has been another issue – but I’m a mom, so I rest my case there :P)

The parts of the class that I enjoyed THE most were without a doubt the few minutes the instructor would talk about ayaat in the Qur’aan and point out the amazing way Allah subhaana wa ta’aala chose to word certain things. I loved those little gems on the Arabic eloquence of the Qur’aan. I’m so jealous of those who can understand the Qur’aan’s language and appreciate it’s beauty.

The one day I actually did miss class, my father in law came home and mentioned an incredible ayah in the Qur’aan that the instructor pointed out:

“Allah has not put for any man two hearts inside his body […]” (33:4)

Allah subhaana wa ta’aala used the word rijaal here. He didn’t use a gender-neutral term. The word rijaal is specifically for a man. Why is that? Allahu ‘Alam, but the instructor pointed out that indeed, two hearts can never exist in one man, but they can in a woman.

When a woman is pregnant, she is carrying another person inside of her…So there are two hearts inside of one woman. SubhaanAllah!

This entry was posted in Pregnancy and Children, Qur'an Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

