Sisters

I used to write like crazy before I got married. This is probably only the second or third thing I wrote after marriage.

Sister 

You think I left

Found new life

Became too busy

With family of my own

Perhaps forgotten

Old ties outgrown

 

But I wait

All the time

For the days

back at home

where I find my friends

my family of old

 

Because in your eyes

I find unconditional love

In your presence

I find laughter and youth

In your arms

I find a steady truth

 

I remember a time

When I too was a child

I remember a day

When I too had a mother

 

Do not think

I have forgotten

Because in you

My baby sisters

I find myself again

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sisters

  1. Hafsa says:

    i feel like i'm the only one who just discovered you have a blog

    • ummibraheem says:

      lol Umm..you might be the only one 😉 although…well, maybe no one checked out the pics. I’ve actually had this blog since before I had khadeejah 🙂 It’s mostly Islamic stuff (a lot of transcribing), but there’s other stuff too… I posted up a lot of Baby Blues comics when I was pregnant 😀

  2. amrine says:

    I loved the poem, made me emotional!

Leave a Reply

