Gift Giving

I love to give gifts. Love. Not like. I really, really, really love to give people things 🙂 I don’t know why, but it makes me happy. And since I get such a kick out of it, I have decided that it is an ‘ibaadah as well 🙂 gift2

Allah says that we will not truly believe until we love for our brother what we love for ourself.  And who doesn’t love a nice present out of the blue? Why wait on birthdays or some other appointed day to receive something? We should be able to express our love year round!

The Prophet sallallahu ‘alayhi wa sallam also encouraged us to give gifts to another to increase the love between one another.*

Gifts are also a nice way to say sorry without saying sorry 8)

I think gift giving is a great way to express to someone that you love them. You don’t have to spend a whole lot of money, or make it difficult on yourself. Here are a few things to do to keep it simple:

1) Jot it down: Notice when your loved one says that they like something. Even if it’s something inexpensive or trivial to you; if they like it, log it away. They’ll appreciate you noticing and remembering!

2) That’s another thing – it should be important to them. Although we should give what we love, it’s equally – and probably more – important to give them what they want … and need.

3) Give practical gifts. My mom is a pro at this. She always remembers something I mentioned about “Man, my toaster broke!” or “I wish we had more glasses at home.” I’m always so happy that she remembers my needs.

4) Wrap it up nice. I don’t know about everyone else, but it’s so fun to get a present that’s beautifully wrapped. And – for me – wrapping it is even funner 🙂 You don’t necessarily have to buy gift wrap, if you think it’s a waste. If your present is small, put it in a resuable, sturdy box. I love Hobby Lobby’s and JoAnns’ photo storage boxes.

5) It doesn’t have to be expensive. A few weeks ago, I made a present out of post-its (don’t ask…..) Just be creative. It can even be cheesy. It could be…let’s see…a bookmark. Or a glitter pen. Whatever. If you’re crafty, home-made presents are awesome.

6) Be random. Give them when your sister/mom/husband/kid is feeling down. Getting a present – even a small one – might just make their day.

7) Buy in advance. If you find something really great on sale or clearance (if you’re like me…), pick it up and stow it away. You don’t know when it’ll come in handy!

* heard this hadith at a khutbah that was right before ‘Eid once, but I couldn’t find an exact reference

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

