Precious Provisions

PreciousProvisionsBismillah.

I just took an AlMaghrib class after about 3 years!Alhamdulillah. And anyone who knows me well knows I love AlMaghrib. so that was pretty much 3 years of torture.

Just this past weekend, I took the Precious Provisions class with Shaykh Yasir Qadhi. I loooved this class, and I must say that I think the Shaykh’s teaching style has improved mui much since the last class I took with him in Hosna – Light upon Light (2005).

As per a request from a dear friend 🙂 — I will be putting up my notes from that class inshaAllah. For all of the Muslimah Mommies, I sincerely hope Allah makes it easy for you to seek knowledge. (I am eternally in debt to my sweet hubby for watching the kids the entire weekend.)

Just a little disclaimer – these notes are not like my transcripts on lectures. Although I’m usually quite a meticulous note taker, I was a bit distracted in this class thinking about my children 🙂 I will look up the ahaadith and ayahs and cite them where I can inshaAllah. As always – please let me know of my mistakes, it is much appreciated 🙂

Precious Provisions

taught by Shaykh Yasir Qadhi

Bismillah. One of the first things that Allah did after He created Adam ‘alayhis salaam was tell him:

“O Adam! Verily, this is an enemy to you and to your wife. So let him not get you both out of Paradise, so that you be distressed in misery. Verily, you have (a promise from Us) that you will never be hungry therein nor naked.” (Taha, 117-8)

But shaytaan enticed them to disobey Allah. And with what did shaytaan entice? To eat from the haraam. And what was the consequence when Adam fell prey to the sin? Immediately – nakedness. Food and clothing. From the beginning of mankind.

From this story, we learn that Allah’s blessings diminish when you sin.

From the very beginning, since the creation of our father Adam, shaytaan’s plan was to get us to eat haraam and expose our nakedness. Not only does this class discuss the very genesis of man, but it deals with practical fiqh of a daily matter.

Of what use is a religion that tells you how to behave on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday but not the rest of the days? A sign of a true religion is that it tells us how to live our every day lives.

There is a hadith in which a Jewish man mocked the religion fo Islam, saying: “Has your Prophet taught you everything, even how to [and here the man used a very vulgar word, but we shall say] defecate?” And to this Salman AlFarsi replied, “Yes. Our Prophet even taught us how to go to the bathroom.” He wasn’t embarassed at all. There is nothing to embarassed of; this is the sign of a true religion.*

We thank Allah who taught us how to eat and also what to do when the food has digested and has to come out.

InshaAllah we will begin with the Etiquettes of Food.

*I searched for this hadith but couldn’t find it. The closest thing I could find were some hadith in Sahih Muslim, see Muslim 2/504 and 505

This entry was posted in AlMaghrib, Islam and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Precious Provisions

  1. apsari says:

    Assalamu alaikum Aisha,
    …I just knew that saying Bismillah is like a wajib! my…i forgot it alot i think 😦
    Jazakillahu khair for the notes! I’m in the process of reading it…and i’m loooooving it. I soooo wanted to go to the seminar but i cant cuz of YUnus…and houston is too farrr :(but at least i have this…and mA theeeseee are realllyyy good notes you took! mA

Leave a Reply

