Mommy, wow, I’m a big kid now!

bigkidThis one is for you, Areej 😉 lol and Apsari 😀

I didn’t think it was a very big deal that Ibraheem was potty trained. He’s going to be 3 in November. Actually, I thought becoming potty trained at 2 years and about 4 months was late. Especially considering how much effort I put into trying to Infant Potty Train him. It did work…as long as he stayed an infant 🙂 The moment he started to crawl/walk…boom! All that hard work, out the door…

It’s not really their fault; they’re just so caught up in exploring and discovering that their limbs can take them places that they couldn’t care less whether or not they have a wet diaper.

Once Ibraheem hit two, I kicked back into trying to potty train him. It was a particularly difficult struggle for me, because I had just had my second – Khadeejah. But once that rough patch of adjusting to two babies passed, my husband told me to just leave Ibraheem in his underwear for a few days.

That did it. I think the biggest thing that accomplished was getting me to kick into I-mean-business mode. I couldn’t just have him peeing all over the carpet; it was too much hassle to clean!

A few things that helped:

1) Talk to him/her about it! The mornings are the easiest times to get a child to go in his/her potty. Every morning, talk about how they are a big kid now and they have to start using the potty and wearing big kid underwear.

2) Notice their pee/poo schedule. There are usually intervals at which your child will have to go. For this, you have to keep a close eye. And then when you think it’s time, ask them if they have to go. You have to be really vigilant about this. It gets tiring, but I think it’s effective. With infant potty training, that’s the #1 thing – you have to pick up on your child’s cues.

3) Buy some underwear they like! I know it sounds a bit silly, but it may actually help. Make a big deal when they wear it. Say something like, “Oh, look at you! You’re all grown up and wearing big kid underwear!”

4) Make a big deal if they do manage to go. Even if it’s once in a week or something. Talk to them afterwards for just a minute and tell them what a great job they did. Give them a hug. You’re the parent. You know what will make your child realize that he/she did a great job.

5) Reward, reward, reward. Ibraheem loves his sweets. Normally, my husband and I try to stay away from the sugary stuff, but when we were potty training him, out came the chocolate. Not a whole lot, just like a Hershey’s kiss or something. I would give it to him and tell him why he was getting it – “This is for going in the bathroom, Ibraheem! If you tell me next time, you’ll get another chocolate.” Lol one warning: they may go extra just to get the chocolate 😀

6) If your child has a harder time going #2 in the potty, give him a bigger reward (like a Kit Kat versus a Kiss).

7) Don’t follow the parenting books that say you should go in front of your child and say, “Look at mommy! She’s going to the bathroom!” (Not that anybody would…but isn’t that just sick?!) 😛 bleck.

Hope that helps…and obviously this may not work for everyone, but it worked for me alhamdulillah 😀 Plus, it helped that Ibraheem is a pretty understanding and cooperative kid 😀 We’ll see how things go with Khadeejah… 😉

By the way, the title is from the pull up commercials from ages ago….don’t know if they still have those 😀

This entry was posted in Pregnancy and Children and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mommy, wow, I’m a big kid now!

  1. apsari says:

    aISHA!!! thanks alot for the article! jazakallah…its very informative i love your articles mA!!! I;d want to start now, but yunus is still 20 months now, and the doctor told me to start at 2 yrs old. I heard even if you start early but the organs are not fully developed to be trained, you wont be able to do it. Do you think maybe Ibrahim started successfully at 2 becuz thats when he’s physically ready? Becuz i;m confused when i should start now or at 2…? and for me its easy to get cues of when he poops but its REAL hard to know when he pees…how do you know from ibrahim? oh and yunus is not picky at all concerning dirty diaper, he was never the type of baby that complains of discomfort after he poops…so I have doubts but still hopes the wearing that underwear all the time thing will work…
    jzk again!!! I love you, neighbor!!!! 🙂

  2. apsari says:

    btw is there any notice from your site to my email when you post something here? I’d want to be in it for sure! 🙂

  3. ummibraheem says:

    lol I love you too, Apsari 🙂 You’re such a sweetie.

    About the organs not being developed…hmm wAllahu ‘Alam if that’s true or not..Personally, I don’t believe it. I think every child is different, but I noticed with both my kids that there are cues that your children give you, even as infants, that they are uncomfortable and they have to go. I think because we ignore them, they are “trained” to go on themselves and then they just get used to that. There are loads of moms who potty train their babies at very young ages.

    Another thing – remember that you’ll lose some, you’ll win some. Don’t expect to have it right 100% of the time. Even if you get him to go half the time, that’s an amazing accomplishment! Even after potty training, kids have accidents!

    I’m flattered that you would want to follow my blog. I tried to find out if there was a way to be updated about new posts and I can’t figure it out 😦 I’ll ask my hubby (who is a computer genius), I’m sure he’ll know if there is a way 🙂

  4. Amber says:

    I was not looking forward to potty training my son (and did not have a clue). My friend (thank you Debbie!) kept talking about a free site with a great method. I worked it, and it worked! OMGosh- I could not believe my ears when my son said “I gotta go potty”. Highly recommended! It is http://www.bye-bye-diapers.com I am also would like to hear what others have to say. Thanks, Amber

  5. areej says:

    Jazakallah Aisha, I’m trying real hard for hamza, he is doing pretty good, he likes underwear’s rather than the pull ups, the pull ups are sooooooooo tight, it leaves marks on him.
    He’s actually potty trained, but only at home, he is so shy, he doesn’t leave the house without wearing the diaper, so I guess I have to work on that.
    I said it earlier, but no harm at repeating, your articles are really interesting and with lots of info.
    I like the notice thing too, I always miss it and read it much later

    • ummibraheem says:

      Yay! That’s awesome that he’s potty trained! Don’t worry – I didn’t go straight to Ibraheem wearing underwear outside. Once he was potty trained, he wore diapers/pull ups when we were out. And then we would tell him to “hold it” and wait till we got home if he let us know in the car or outside. Once he was able to do that – bye by diapers!

      Yeah, I dont know why they make pull ups so uncomfortable :shaking head: The siding on those things is HORRIBLE!

      And it’s good to know somebody reads my blog 😀 lol sometimes I feel like I’m just posting for nobody but myself 😉

Leave a Reply

