Muhajjabah Mistake #3: Heels

If anyone reads my blog, they know I’m very old school Muslimah 🙂 I proudly say that my husband is the head of house and I try to obey him because I love him and because I love Allah. I wear an abaya because I believe otherwise it’s not hijab (unless you’re wearing a niqab… ;)) I don’t wear make up and perfume outside; I wear them at home (which, sadly, is an absurdity these days!) And…

I. Hate. High. Heels.

Oh, but they’re so pretty, you say. Let me rephrase then:

I hate it when Muslimahs think high heels are ok and “cute” to wear in public. Wear them at home all you want, until it’s painful, I suppose. But if you are a muhajjabah, or care to be, then PLEASE leave them at the door as you leave the house.

Why? Because of what they do to your posture. I recently went to a get together and the sisters were all talking about how great high heels were because of “what they do for my posture.” WHAT?! Are you kidding me? I was thinking, “Girl, they’re haraam because of what they ‘do for your posture’!” I didn’t say that, though, because I didn’t know how to without offending every high heel wearing girl in the room…which was everyone.

Look at this picture. Do you see the girl on the right? That is what is called unnatural posture. Aside from all of the medical reasons why you shouldn’t wear heels — heel pain, foot pain, calf pain, back pain, bunions….shall I go on? — High heels should not be worn because they accentuate your … God given assets 🙂 And if I have to explain why those should not be accentuated in public…then this may not be the blog for you 😀

Allah says:

And  tell  the  believing  women  to  reduce  [some]  of  their  vision  and  guard  their  private parts  and  not  expose  their  adornment  except  that  which  [necessarily]  appears  thereof and  to  wrap  [a  portion  of]  their  headcovers  over  their  chests  and  not  expose  their adornment …. (an Nur, 31)

As I tell my hubby, there are so many women’s issues that the shaykhs have to address lightly because they may “offend” the female Muslim masses. I wish there was a female shaykha that would emerge and lay it all out like it is. We need to hear it like it is.

So my lovely ladies, buy heels to your hearts content, but on your way out, please check them in at the door 🙂

This entry was posted in Islam, Women and Islam and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Muhajjabah Mistake #3: Heels

  1. As Salaam Alaikum wa Rahmatulahi wa Barakatahu!

    Subject: Should Muslim Sisters Wear High Heels?

    My Dear Sister: Al-Hamdulillah… this is a very good subject and I, for one agree with you 100%…that we shouldn’t wear High Heels for the reasons that you mentioned in your e-mail.

    Fisibil’Allah….
    your sister
    Aisha S. Sharif-Rashid

  2. ummibraheem says:

    jazakAllah khayr for the site, sister. I’ll check it out when I have some time inshaAllah 🙂

Leave a Reply

