jump to navigation

Who Are My Mahrams? August 11, 2009

Posted by ummibraheem in Islam, Marriage, Women and Islam.
Tags: ,
trackback

Because people have asked so many questions on here about who is your mahram and who is not, I have stopped approving specific questions/comments because this is not a fatwa blog, nor is it run by anyone knowledgable. If anyone has any such questions, please direct them at your Imam or anyone else knowledgable in your community. JazakAllah khayr for understanding.

Who are your mahrams – the men you cannot marry/have sexual relations with and do not have to observe hijaab in front of ?

My husband seems to be quite lost these days on exactly who a woman’s mahrams are, so I thought I’d do a little reading for him. (Yay! One thing I actually might know more about than him! :) My source was primarily my Fiqh of Love notes (taught by Shaykh Yaser Birjas), but I double-checked with Islam Q&A to make sure I didn’t have discrepancies. Please correct me, someone, if you happen to find any mistakes!

little_brother

To begin, mahrams can be split into 3 categories:

1) mahrams by blood

2) mahrams by marriage

3) mahrams by breastfeeding 

Most of your mahrams are summed up in this ayah, where Allah says:

“And tell the believing women to reduce [some] of their vision and guard their private parts and not expose their adornment except that which [necessarily] appears thereof and to wrap [a portion of] their headcovers over their chests and not expose their adornment except to their husbands, their fathers, their husbands’ fathers, their sons, their husbands’ sons, their brothers, their brothers’ sons, their sisters’ sons, their women, that which their right hands possess, or those male attendants having no physical desire, or children who are not yet aware of the private aspects of women. And let them not stamp their feet to make known what they conceal of their adornment. And turn to Allah in repentance, all of you, O believers, that you might succeed.” (24:31)

Mahrams by Blood

Mahrams by blood are pretty simple to understand. They are your mahrams because they are related to you by blood :)

1. Your descendants (son, grandson, gread grandson, etc)

2. You ancendants (father, grandfather, greatgrandfather, etc)

3. Your parents’ descendants (your brother, your brothers’ sons, your sisters’ sons. This includes half-brothers and half-siblings.)

4. The first generation of your grandparents’ offspring.

That is – your mother’s brothers, your father’s brothers. These are  your maternal and paternal uncles by blood. This does not include, for example, your mother’s sister’s husband. In Urdu, we call this relationship khalu, your khalu is NOT your mahram! He is not your uncle by blood, rather he is your uncle through marriage.

Mahrams by Affinity/Marriage

This is also where things get sticky. People assume a lot of mahrams once they are married. The most obvious mistake: the brother in law. The brother in law is NOT your mahram! As a matter of fact, the Prophet sallallahu ‘alayhi wa sallam said that the brother in law is death. Now, before you freak out, read the following hadith:

‘Uqba b. Amir reported Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) as saying: “Beware of getting, into the houses and meeting women (in seclusion).” A person from the Ansar said: “Allah’s Messenger, what about the husband’s brother?” Whereupon he said: “The husband’s brother is like death.” [Muslim 26/5400]

It’s true. That is usually the person most couples feel comfortable around. The husband thinks, “He’s my brother, I trust him.” And the wife thinks, “He’s my husband’s brother, like he’s going to look at me like that?”

Since when did intentions dictate Shari’ah? They are not your mahrams. If your husband were to pass away (Allah preserve our husbands!) it is completely halal for his brother to marry you. An example of this would be ‘Uthmaan radiyallahu ‘anhu – he married one daughter of the Prophet sallallahu ‘alayhi wa sallam. When she passed away, the Prophet married him to another of his daughters.

Anyway, so back to the mahrams :)

Your mahrams by marriage are:

1.) Ancestors of your husband. (That would be your husband’s father, his grandfather, etc.)

2.) Your descendants’ husbands (basically, flipping the coin on #1). (This would be your son-in-law, your granddaughter’s husband, etc.)

3.) The husbands of your ancestors (your mother’s husband…which would be your father, lol. Your stepfather, your grandmother, etc).

4.) The husband’s descendants.

This, of course, would include your sons and any children your husband may have had with another wife. And it also includes your step sons. A note, however: by contract, a man’s stepdaughter is still halal for him. After consumation, she becomes completely haram.  So the mahram relationship which is established to step children is after the parents consummate the marriage.

Common Misconceptions

1.) My brother in law is my mahram. We already addressed that :D

2.) My cousins are my mahrams. I don’t even know why people don’t observe hijaab in front of their cousins. Don’t they realize Muslims marry cousins all the time? It is completely halal. I think the fact that we are family makes  us more comfortable and we forget the Law of Allah.

3.) My khalu and pupha are my mahrams. These would be uncles that married into your family. A simple rule of thumb: any uncle that married into the family is not your mahram unless you can prove it :D

4.) Anybody I call khalu or uncle is my mahram. Really? :/ That’s interesting. Your mother’s and father’s cousins are NOT your mahrams. Heck, they’re not your MOM’s or DAD’s mahrams, so why would they be your mahrams?

5.) People I call “nieces” and “nephews” are my mahrams. This would be…let’s see. Your mother’s sister’s grandkids. WHY? Your cousins are not your mahrams, so why would their kids be? People may think when reading this: “This chicks’ crazy. Why is she even talking about them? There’s probably a gazillion years age gap.” Not in some families where they are loads of kids.

edited to add: Your blood nieces and nephews (siblings’ children) are your mahrams, but NOT your spouse’s siblings’ children. There is a big difference between the two.

6.) Well, the list could drag on….

Just because your call someone “aunty”, “uncle”, “brother”, “sister” does NOT make them your mahram! Be careful of who you remove hijab in front of, even if they are family. InshaAllah I hope this post helped make things simpler  :)

I realize that there are also Mahrams by breastfeeding. I would have to do a lot of reading before writing about that, however, so inshaAllah another day :)

some links to checkout:

father’s wife’s mother

Mahram through breastfeeding

obligations to relatives through breastfeeding

mahrams through marriage, and another similar link

a general list of all mahrams  

Comments»

1. Areej - August 20, 2009

Mashallah, this post is really interesting and packed with information. I dint know that son-in-law too could be your mahram, jazakallah.

ummibraheem - August 21, 2009

Of course the son in law is mahram! :) Your father in law would be your mahram – you don’t have to observe hijaab in front of him. Actually, he is about the only mahram you get when you’re married. Well, your husband’s father; your husband’s father’s father, etc…

2. UmmIsmail - September 15, 2009

Assalamu Alaikum wa rahmatullah wa barakatuhu
I have a question my husband converted to islam a long time ago before i married him and of course hes family is not muslim. So someone told me that since hes father is not a muslim that he is not mahram for me and that i am not aloud to live with him or that i have to wear hijab in front of him. I know this is not true but this person insistes that it is haram is there any ayah in the quran or hadith that states anything about this? Please let me know as soon as possible. JazzakAllahu Khairen. Salam Alaikum wa Rahamtullah

ummibraheem - September 15, 2009

wa ‘alaykum as salaam wa rahmatullah sister

to be honest, i dont really know the answer myself. I asked my husband to ask a shaykh though…if I get a response, I’ll let you know.

*update* I found the answer on Islam Q&A :) Alhamdulillah

Oh – and to the person who is telling you that you HAVE to wear hijaab in front of your father in law, I believe the burden of proof lies on them. That is, THEY have to produce proof that he is not your mahram. wAllahu ‘alam

3. muslim sista' - October 21, 2009

wow, thats a lots a lot of info sista!!
alhamdulillah!

but what about my dads bothers, my grandads sisters doughters husband, who are both cousins,

or my mums sisters husband, who is my grandmas sisters son, so the married couple are both cousins?

or my grandmas sisters son?

all this stuff is very very confusing – i just want to get is right!!

also if they come to my house, is it enough to wear salwaar kameez, or jeans and dress up to my knees?? – inshallah im going 2 wear jilbab/abaya starting tomorrow (im so xited!!) i just wanted to get it ryt!! hehe! (i already alhamdulillah wear hijab!)

thanku 4 all ur support and may allah shower his blessings upon u!! and any1 who comments!! =]

ummibraheem - October 21, 2009

as salaamu ‘alaykum muslim sista :)

A lot of those people fall into some of the categories mentioned above:
1) Your dad’s brothers are your uncles by blood – therefore, your mahrams.
2) Your grandad’s sister’s daughter’s husband…most likely not your mahrams :D They seem like far off cousins to me. No?
3) Your mum’s sister’s husband is not your mahram, nor your mothers. (He would be your mum’s brother in law. Also discussed in post :D

And i’m sooo happy for you that you’ll star wearing abaya! There’s this site for hijabis, if you want to check it out – igotitcovered.org

As for your question about what wear when your non mahrams come…Well, from what I understand it would be the same as you going out and being around non mahrams. So whatever you wear in front of strange men in public, you should observe in front of them. wAllahu ‘Alam. Buuuut – a word of caution – my parents kind of freaked out when I first started wearing abayas around my uncles who were not my mahrams …. So do it with hikma (wisdom) inshaAllah. May Allah strengthen you sweetie :)

4. Nabeela - October 21, 2009

I completely understand your frustration about women thinking they can remove their hijabs in front of male cousins. In fact, here in USA, many American muslims I know go “ewww” at the thought of marrying cousins. That is soo wrong. They are making haram on themselves something that Allah taala made halal for them.

ummibraheem - October 21, 2009

Yeah, I think that’s a major problem with a lot of Muslims raised in the US. We think of our cousins as brother/sisters. That’s the culture HERE. You said it – we can’t make something haraam that Allah has made halaal.

5. muslim sista' - October 22, 2009

thanx 4 clarifying it 4 me!! alhamdulillah, ive started wearing it today!!, i went out and brought 1 today, and my mum sed that she will make me some cz they r a bit xpensiv in the shops – and i know its halal becasue in my relatives and family we all marry our cousins because its easier for the parents 2 choose a person who they kow inside out, who will inshallh be good for u!!
and ummibraheem – u sed it ryt!! y make halal haram!!

peace n luv!!

6. Saarah - October 26, 2009

Wow, that’s a lot of information! It cleared up a bunch of confusion…but, I’m visiting Pakistan right now and meeting a lot of family I didn’t before, and I still have one question:
My grandfather has a second wife, so his son with her (or my dad’s stepson) wouldn’t be mahram, right? My mother and I had a disagreement over this when he came to visit the other day, but I ended up wearing a hijab anyway to be on the safe side :)
Thanks for the wonderful post!

ummibraheem - October 27, 2009

alhamdulillah my intention was to clear up confusion :D although, I don’t know how good of a job I did, seeing as there are so many questions still! :)

My question – you said that your grandfather had a son WITH his second wife. Do you mean that he is your grandfather’s son by blood? In that case, he wouldn’t be his step son, he would be his blood son. Just wanted to clarify the relationship.

7. Hadi - January 11, 2010

In response to common misconceptions # 5:
niece = brother or sister’s daughter
Nephew = brother or sister’s son
They are Mahrams. It is not a misconception.

ummibraheem - January 11, 2010

I’m not sure which country you live in, brother, so perhaps that is where we differ. In the US, however, your SPOUSE’s siblings children would also be considered your nieces and nephews. They are NOT your mahrams.

For example, your husband’s brother’s sons. They aren’t your mahrams. wAllahu ‘Alam.

Also, in that point, I was trying more to point out that just because you call someone ‘niece’ or ‘nephew’, it doesn’t make them your mahram. But jazakAllah khayr for bringing about another important point!

For future reference, if you could word your corrections and advice more politely, you would have a grateful audience :)

8. Khadija Qaiser - February 17, 2010

MashALLAH :)

9. Muhammad Ahsan - March 10, 2010

i will say the same about In response to common misconceptions # 5:
niece = brother or sister’s daughter
Nephew = brother or sister’s son
They are Mahrams. It is not a misconception.

Yes they are mehrams Hadi.

ummibraheem - March 10, 2010

:sigh: this is frustrating. Did you read my reply to the brother?

10. Sumaira - May 9, 2010

Is Sister’s husband Mahrm????

ummibraheem - May 9, 2010

No, your sister’s husband is not your mahram.

UmmD - September 5, 2013

From what I read, he is temporary mehram as in forbidden to marry as long as he’s married to your sister, same for khalu. So you have to cover but you can sit in the same room kinds.But for other non mahrams eg,. cousins,, you should not even mix with them.

Tuju Besi - September 22, 2013

There are 2 types of mahraam:

1. permanent mahraam (mahraam mu-ab-bad)

2. temporary mahraam (mahraam mu-a’q-qad)

Just to clear a misconception:

As we all know for a woman: Your sister’s husband is not your permanent mahraam ..

He is your ‘temporary” mahraam as someone wrote above.

But what i want to clear is : “temporary mahraam” is actually just like any outsider .. you hv to cover up and you cannot be alone with him .. cannot sit next to him, cannot talk to him with a desirous voice.

Just like for a man: another outsider who is a married woman is his mahraam! … “huh, what did you say?” … yup what I mean is TEMPORARY MAHRAAM ..

because he cannot marry that woman as long as she stays married to another man.. its haraam for him..

The daleel is:
When mentioning our list of mahraam, Allah says like what one reader has quoted above from Surah An-Nisa’ verse 23… then Allah continued with verse 24, which means to say:

[004:024] Also (forbidden are) women already married, except those (slaves) whom your right hands possess.

BUT We canT say that this married woman can uncover or be alone with another man, NO!

What I trying to say is “temporary mahraam” is just like any outsider .. They do not have any “privilege” or special rights compared to the outsider ,,

In fact, when the word mahraam is mentioned alone in any article or in any conversation, we normally refer to the PERMANENT mahraam , unless otherwise added as “temporary mahraam” ..

So in this article (which i hv been following for a few years), when they say “who are my mahraams?”, what the author meant is “Who are my “permanent mahraam?” .. They might not hv to explicitly write it out, MAYBE because it is understood …

Just like the word “carrot” .. if someone said “I ate some carrots for breakfast” .. without questioning him any further, we normally would assume that what he ate was the normal orange carrot, unless otherwise mentioned as “white carrot” ..

Does anybody understand me yet?

So my point is do not be lenient and say “he is my temporary mahraam, its OK for me to sit with him” .. no no thats wrong ..

AstaghfirULLAH .. says who? beware beware of this misconception!

I want to repeat: THERE IS NO PRIVILEGE that a “temporary mahraam” has over an outsider … They are the same as outsiders .. except that you canT marry them temporarily ..

All other parameters have to be guarded.. your awrah has to be covered, you cannot be alone with him, you cannot travel alone with him and etc

And Allaah knows best. May Allaah send blessings and peace upon our Prophet Muhammad and his family and companions.

11. zanjabil - June 24, 2010

Is your daughter’s step-son your mahram? I’m asking because I want to find out if my mother has to cover infront of my grown stepson(who I don’t cover in front of)

ummibraheem - June 24, 2010

Sorry, sweetie, I don’t know :( I hope you can find someone knowledgeable nearby to answer your question. Or just ask your local Imam, sister :)

zanjabil - June 25, 2010

Ok, I’ll do that. Thanks anyway, I appreciated your post :)

12. havaa - August 22, 2010

what about my mothers uncle as in my grandmothers brother

ummibraheem - August 22, 2010

wAllahu ‘Alam. I’m sorry, I don’t know. You can always ask your imam or someone knowledgable :)

13. nazrina - October 21, 2010

iam a female .i want2 know whether my sister’s son is a mahram or my dads brothers or dads siters sons are mahrams

14. ummibraheem - October 21, 2010

I want to once again point out that I am not someone knowledgable, just learning :)

Your sister’s sons are your mahrams (they fall under category #3)

Your dad’s brothers are your mahrams (they fall under category #4).

In general, your dad’s sister’s sons are NOT your mahrams, because they are your cousins. Cousins are NOT mahrams. As I mentioned earlier, you can marry your cousin, so of course he is not your mahram :)

Allah knows best.

15. Amaana - October 29, 2010

Assalamu alaikum, JazzakAllah khayr for this information

I must be blind..
But I would really appreciate it if you could just tell me YES or NO to this question.
Are my husbands uncles my mahrem???

InshaAllah Khair.

ummibraheem - October 29, 2010

wAllahu ‘Alam, no, husband’s uncle’s are not your mahrams. Double check with someone knowledgable though.

16. Sister Nafees Nisar - January 8, 2011

Very very good post Masha Allah. I’m glad you used terms from the Asian Sub-continent; Khalu, Phupa. I hope I’m right in adding to these as Mami or Mumani and Chachi are also not mahram as these are your husband’s nephews and nieces.

Am I right in saying if they work out not to be mahram to your kids then they are not your mahram?

17. Zahid Hossian - January 22, 2011

can I marry my mom’s cousin?

18. ummibraheem - January 22, 2011

I feel really horrible that people keep asking me questions about mahrams. I apologize for this, but I’m going to stop answering even what I know, because I don’t know much. Please direct your questions at someone knowledgable :) jazakAllah khayr! :)

19. Zahid Hossian - January 22, 2011

plz give my answer this very important to know “can I marry my mom’s cousin?”

20. Sister Nafees Nisar - January 22, 2011

@Zahid Hossian – Sayyedena Ali (R.A) was the son of the paternal uncle (father’s brother) of Rasul Allah (Sallallaho Alayhi Wassalam) and he was married to Saydatina Fatima (R.A) daughter of Rasul Allah (Sallallaho Alayhi Wassalam). So Sayyedena Ali (R.A) and Rasul Allah (Sallallaho alayhi wassalam) were both cousins.

I am married to my mum’s maternal uncle’s (mamu)son. So in answer to your questions I am married to my mum’s cousin.

Zahid Hossian - July 1, 2011

no not my mum’s mamu,uncle’s(chacha) daughter.is it possible please say it direct…….

ummibraheem - July 1, 2011

i’m sorry, I didn’t understand that question at all. Also, I probably don’t know the answer. So please ask your local Imam :)

21. Sis. umHuzaifah. - February 26, 2011

Assalamu alaikum, very nice post ummibraheem, and very informative too. I know you can get overwhelmed with the questions the brothers and sisters keep asking, but you will be doing a great service to the Ummah if you can help them by replying when you are clear about the questions.

Br. Hadi and Br. Mohamed Ahsan……..

Your brother and sister’s children (Niece/Nephew) are Mahram to you but your spouses Neice and Nephew are not your Mahrams, THIS IS A FACT.

Wassalamu Alaikum.

22. ash - March 7, 2011

Hi Sis can I ask you something? Can i marry my father’s brothers’ son? My dad and my uncle share the same father but not mother. He is my cousin. So can I marry him? Any advice?

23. ummibraheem - March 7, 2011

@sister asha: you are allowed to marry your cousin. I hope everything works out for the best for you <3

@UmmHuzaifah: jazakAllah khayr for your kindness. I will try to follow your advice :)

24. Umm Hurayrah - March 15, 2011

Assalaaamu alykum,

I fould this a very interesting read, mashaAllah. I’m not sure whether you will be answering anymore questions, incase you are I thought I would ask my question inshaAllah.

Is my Grandfather’s brother my mahram?

25. Muhammad - April 1, 2011

Asalam u Aalaikium Warahmatullahe wabarakatuh,

I have a question I am searching for for quite sometime.

The Ayah you quoted above does not say that your maternal or paternal uncles are your Mehrams. But you have concluded the point # 4 that they are.

I need some help. My wife’s ‘chachu’ (step brother of her father) is very young. He is about 10 years older than her. And he looks very young too. I don’t like it when he hugs her or shakes hand with her. But she tells me that he is her mehram so its ok. I don’t like it. He doesn’t seem to be a very ‘religious’ guy and I have all the reasons to doubt his stupid intentions. I feel very bad if he gets close to my wife. But the fact of the matter is that he is her paternal father.

I am confused. Please help me. Am I not suppose to feel jealous because of this?

Do you think you could email me please when you post a response?

Thanks.

26. sharifa - April 2, 2011

can someone help me answer this question please.
is my cousin’s son my mahram?
i think i might have a crush on him but i don’t want to be doing anything haram!

thats my mums brothers son’s son…thanks you!

27. ummibraheem - April 7, 2011

@Muhammad, you said that the ayah does not include paternal or maternal uncles. The ayah does not explicitly say “your father’s brother” or “your mother’s brother”, but it can be understood from the verse. I won’t try to explain it, because I don’t want to make a mistake, but inshaAllah it is enough that the notes I made were from a class I took by Shaykh Yaser Birjas and I am absolutely positive that the Imam knew what he was talking about :) If I can research the explanation for you later, I will try inshaAllah.

As for your wife’s chachu – you said that he is your wife’s father’s step brother. Can you elaborate on that relationship, please? It’s possible that he is your wife’s mahram, but it is also possible that he is not. It depends on how the two brothers are related. And Allah knows best. Like I said, I don’t like responding to specific answers, so I implore you to please ask your local Imam. They would know best. As for the situation of you disliking her hugging him because of his age, I would also mention this to Imam and ask what can be done. Shaytaan is always trying to seperate the husband and wife, and I really pray that it works out for both of you inshaAllah and you get past this difficulty. May Allah increase the love between both of you and preserve your marriage.

28. ummibraheem - April 7, 2011

The issue of maternal and paternal uncles is mentioned in one of the links above (from islamqa.com). It says:

paternal uncles and maternal uncles. They are mahrams by blood even though they are not mentioned in the aayah, because they are like parents and are regarded by people as having the same status as parents, and a paternal uncle may be called a father. Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“Or were you witnesses when death approached Ya‘qoob (Jacob)? When he said unto his sons, “What will you worship after me?” They said, “We shall worship your Ilaah (God — Allaah) the Ilaah (God) of your fathers, Ibraaheem (Abraham), Ismaa’eel (Ishmael), Ishaaq (Isaac)…” [al-Baqarah 2:133]. Ismaa’eel was the paternal uncle of the sons of Ya’qoob.

(Tafseer al-Raazi, 23/206; Tafseer al-Qurtubi, 12/232, 233; Tafseer al-Aaloosi, 18/143; Fath al-Bayaan fi Maqaasid al-Qur’aan by Siddeeq Hasan Khaan, 6/352)

29. ummibraheem - April 7, 2011

@sister Sharifa wAllahu ‘Alam, but I do not think your cousin’s children would be your mahram. Your cousin is definitely not your mahram, and I do not think their children would be either.

And once again everyone, not just sister sharifa, PLEASE ask your local imam! I am just a stay at home mom trying to learn about Islam and do not want to get sins for answering someone incorrectly.

30. ummibraheem - April 7, 2011

Umm Hurayrah – that is a very good question. I have actually wondered that too…is my grandfather’s brother my mahram? please let me know should you find out :)

31. sharifa - April 9, 2011

Brothers and sisters who are reading this could you please give me some advise!
Now that i know it is halal to marry you cousin’s son i have made a decision of doing so, but im am bengali so i was ment to call him my nephew.

i have a feeling that my parents wont agree, can you please give me advice on what to do?
my parent still think it is haram :(

32. ummibraheem - April 9, 2011

please ask someone knowledgable who knows you for advice. I don’t think the internet is the best place to get advice. Everyone is sitting in their homes, making assumptions on your situation or going on very little knowledge about the deen and your situation. I am sure there is an elder in your family or a religious and wise friend who can give you good advice inshaAllah :)

33. Fatou - May 2, 2011

Salaam Aleikum, Jazakallah Khair, and may Allah be pleased with you for posting this blog and for being patient with the questions, and for referring people elsewhere when you do not know. If at all possible, could you help me to consult with someone about a difficult question. I feel a bit embarrassed to ask someone in person.

Alhammdulilah, I know that it is halal for a woman to marry her husband’s brother in the case of his death. I also know that the prophet (sws) said, “The brother-in-law is death”. It may be inferred from that, perhaps, that in the case of divorce, you may not marry your former husband’s brother, but it is not completely clear because after idaat, your husband is longer mahrman.

In the specific case I have in mind, a man was unjust with his wife. The family loved her and her faith so much that they were devastated by the prospect of losing her, so they asked the brother to allow them to propose a marriage between the woman her hurt (and divorced) and one of his brothers, so that she would remain united with the family. He accepted. Is it halal to accept such a proposal? Is it perhaps, not recommended? This is a question, truly, for an expert, I suppose. I would be extremely grateful if, for the sake of my deen, and the deen of the entire family, you could help me to connect with a scholar to pose this question.

The intention is to preserve a family relationship. But we want to do only things that please and honor Allah (swt). If you can help me to connect to someone to find the answer, I will be very grateful. I am a convert, and I do not have many deep connections. My faith is precious to me though. And may Allah be please with you!

Allah hafiz.

ummibraheem - May 3, 2011

That is a question for a scholar :) Here is a trusted source of scholars online inshaAllah — amjaonlie.com.

I searched “mahram” in their fatwa bank. Here it is: http://www.amjaonline.com/en_f_search.php

May Allah maake things easy on you and your family and guide you to what is right.

I hope you find your answer, sweetie :)

34. sunny - May 3, 2011

asalam alaikum ! Plz plz plz help me . I want to marry with my dad,s sister. She z younger then me. And age gape z 1 year between us.she z step sis of my dad. Nw plz tell me that is it possible 4 me 2 marry her ? Plz solve my prob. As soon as possible.

ummibraheem - May 3, 2011

sunny – please ask an imam or someone knowledgable. I can’t answer your question.

35. Umm Abdur Rahman - June 8, 2011

As’salamu aaleykom,
ma sha Allah,May Allah reward u all

36. bint.junaid - September 1, 2011

Assalamu alaikum,
i know that my fathers sisters sons are not my mahram, but i would like to know are my fathers brothers sons my mahram or not?
Alhamdulillah ,i do hijaab from both of the groups but i am not sure about the latter cousins. Just wanted to confirm.
Jazakallah

37. ummibraheem - September 1, 2011

wa ‘alaykum as salaam wa rahmatullah sister and Eid Mubarak! :) nope, those cousins are not your mahrams either. All cousins are non-mahrams. wAllahu ‘Alam :)

38. Umair - September 6, 2011

OK I have a question, my parents are cousins 1st cousins so that still means their cousins are not my Uncles & Aunts? I have always believed they never were only my parents real siblings are my uncles/Aunts

If they are not my uncles/aunts then what are they & what will their childrens relation be to me? Is the Islamic family graph like the English one [2nd cousin once removed etc].

39. ummibraheem - September 6, 2011

I didn’t understand the question, Br. Umair. And I would prefer not to answer even if I did understand.

Please don’t be offended anyone, but I’m going to stop approving very specific questions. Sorry :( We have imams for a reason :)

40. Umair - September 6, 2011

Sure no problem, perhaps my question wasn’t clear enough :) …All I wanted to know is the relation between a mother/father’s cousin to me. Of course they’re not my real Uncles & Aunts as you’ve said. So I just wanted to know the relation would it make them my second or third cousins or is safe to say that there is no relationship as such.

41. ummibraheem - September 6, 2011

I actually don’t know what the relationship is. sorry :(

42. ummibraheem - January 16, 2012

Sorry, everyone. I’m still sticking by not answering specific questions. JazakAllah khayr for understanding and taking your questions to someone knowledgable :)

43. masud ibrahim - April 3, 2012

i am very glad with this web site as it covers many of islamic teaching,may Allah reward you abundantly,i also pray for muslims to be doing all righteous deed,and leave all evils.lastly may Allah elevate islam and depress religion beside islam.

44. nazira - May 12, 2012

asslamu alaikum
masha allah..its great to see this site..i have doubt too…is it allowed in islam for me to marry ……….please guide me…jazakAllah khayr

ummibraheem - May 12, 2012

jazakAllah khayr. Please see the message at the very beginning of the post :) JazakAllah khayr for understanding.

nazira - May 12, 2012

i would like to know if i can marry…………i dint get this answer from your post…kindly explain..jazakallah khair

45. ummibraheem - May 13, 2012

Sr. Nazira, I intentionally did not reply to your question because of the disclaimer at the beginning of the post; this is not a fatwa blog, nor is it run by anyone knowledgable. If you need an answer to your question, please go to an Imam or someone knowledgable inshaAllah. I hope you find someone to answer your question.

nazira - May 13, 2012

asslamu alaikum
yes i can understand sister…its not a fatwa blog..i just want to clarify the doubt…alhamdhillah i am researching over it and trying to get a fatwa on this issue…..i am just trying to get this doubt cleared from as many ppl as possible…and ofcourse i understand your intention…thank you sister..jazakallah khayr…

46. ummibraheem - May 16, 2012

Nazira — jazakAllah khayr for understanding :) I am a firm believer in people not speaking without knowledge, and since I don’t know enough… :)

47. mursal - July 9, 2012

very useful mashallah jzk sis for ur detailed info.

48. Ummu Anwar - August 2, 2012

Asalamu Alaikum,
So can ****** be your mahramm?

ummibraheem - August 2, 2012

sorry sister, please see my note at the beginning of the post :) BarakAllah feek

49. Sahl - September 20, 2012

Thanks ya ukhtii..

This is very useful and informative..

BaarakALLAHU Feek

50. amrin fathima - October 28, 2012

Hello. I have a query.. since you mentioned my father in law a marham,didnt Mohamed marry his daughter in law, Zainab? And wasn’t revelation made to adjust desires of Mohamed that a man can marry his daughter in law?Oryou wanna say that its permitted because zaid was adopted?

ummibraheem - November 27, 2012

jazakAllah khayr for bringing this up. The Prophet (S) did not marry his daughter in law. “Adoption” is very different in Islam. I don’t have time to get into a discussion on this, but you should be able to read up on it on a reputable Muslim site :) In short, he was not the Prophet’s real son (they were not related by blood or breastfeeding), and therefore it wasn’t as if he were marrying his son’s ex-wife. As a matter of fact, one of the wisdoms behind him marrying Zaynab was to explain that how the relationship with an adopted child is different (in terms of mahramship). wAllahu ‘Alam

51. mooni - November 10, 2012

if my father in law is my Mahram, will this allow me to hug him or kiss him on the forehead??? wana know coz im longing to do so, i love him like my own father,,

52. ummibraheem - November 27, 2012

Most of the questions people ask are already indirectly answered in the explanation of mahrams. Please just reread the article. If you’re still confused, read it with someone else :)

53. Tasleema - December 25, 2012

Salaams, i am 16 years old and was hoping to go with my dads side of the family to saudi for ramadhan 2013 but need to clarify if my dads sisters husband can be allowed as my mahram?

ummibraheem - December 28, 2012

the answer is in the article above :)

54. Niño - April 13, 2013

As-Salaamu a’laikum
Hope you’re well?
I’ve been wanting to I ow for a long time wether your sisters husband is mehram or not? As they say, he cannot marry you whilst you’re married to him, however he can marry you when you pass away.
Could you please elaborate on that.
JazakAllah khairan

ummibraheem - May 2, 2013

No man can be married to two sisters at the same time. That is haraam. But if a man’s wife passes away, it is perfectly fine for him to marry her sister.

Your sister’s husband is NOT your mahram. You have to observe hijab in front of him. He is a “temporary mahram” ONLY in the sense that you cannot marry him. It’s a kind of weird relationship in terms of mahram-ship :)

I hope that clears up any confusion :)

55. Parvez - April 26, 2013

JazakAllah sister. This article is very helpful and easy to understand, keep writing.

56. abdul - April 27, 2013

sis can u tell me plz where does it say in the quran majeed that women can only perform hajj with mahram?

ummibraheem - May 2, 2013

I can’t :) sorry!

57. Um Kayed - May 30, 2013

My mother remarried ,,, Is her new father in law a mahram for me? Or only her ?

ummibraheem - June 16, 2013

I don’t know, sweetie :) I’m sorry. I hope you get your answer from someone knowledgable!

58. umm sumayyah - June 15, 2013

Don’t know why noones mentioned this ayah but it might help clear a few things up for those asking in case of marriage…

Allah Says (interpretation of meaning): {Forbidden to you (for marriage) are: your mothers, your daughters, your sisters, your father’s sisters, your mother’s sisters, your brother’s daughters, your sister’s daughters, your foster mother who gave you suck, your foster milk suckling sisters, your wives’ mothers, your step daughters under your guardianship, born of your wives to whom you have gone in – but there is no sin on you if you have not gone in them (to marry their daughters), – the wives of your sons who (spring) from your own loins, and two sisters in wedlock at the same time, except for what has already passed; verily, Allâh is OftForgiving, Most Merciful.} [4: 23]

so if the person u want to marry or are asking about is not in this list…talk to your parents and sort it out…stop hassling the sister.

ummibraheem - June 16, 2013

barakAllah feek! I don’t know why people are skimming over the ayah. :)

59. Muslima - July 3, 2013

please please somebody answer me what if you adopt is that child your mehram now or not??

abdul mateen - July 11, 2013

Assalamualikum.sorry I cant speak english very well.according to islam our adopted child is our na mehram.but if u or ur sister gave own milk to her or him.he or she will b ur mehram.bcoz if u gave ur milk he or she become ur son or daughter.and if ur sister gave milk he or she become ur niece or nephew.and nephew or mehram

ummibraheem - July 14, 2013

As salaamu ‘alaykum sister,

What exactly do you mean by adopt? Taking care of an orphan is very much praised in Islam. However, just taking care of an orphan doesn’t create the legal rulings of mahaarim and other related issues.

Unfortunately, I have not done enough research on this topic to answer your question. But having always wanted to adopt children myself, I do know that breastfeeding establishes the relationship of mahram as well. You will have to read up on the details of this on your own, I’m afraid :)

May Allah make it easy on you,
Umm Ibraheem

Muslim Faith - August 22, 2013

No sister, adopted child (male/female) does not become your mahram or your husband’s mahram and he/she is not entitled for your inheritance like your own son or daughter just by saying ‘I adopt him/her’. We find this example in the life of the Messenger (may peace and blessings be upon him) when he adopted a boy named Zayd (may Allaah be pleased with him), he was not called as Zayd bin Muhammad, rather he was called Zayd bin Thaabit. He was 6 years old his father died in the Battle and later on became a scribe of the Qur’aan.

To make it more clear to the people, Prophet Muhammad (may peace and blessings be upon him) told Zayd (may Allaah be pleased with him) to divorce his wife in order he (Prophet) can marry his wife so that people will understand that adopting child does not mean he/she becomes your real son/daughter or mahram. If he was his real son just by adopting him, his wife was haraam for the Prophet (may peace and blessings be upon him) as he (Prophet) then was her father-in-law and her permanent mahram, but that is not the case. This proves that just by adopting a child, he/she does not become your mahram. And mahram does not mean just you cannot marry (that is one of the quality of a mahram) because then you cannot marry your sister-in-law while your wife is alive and in your marriage, but mahram is a more wider term than that.

60. fatima - July 3, 2013

Masha’Allah you have listed it all correctly and pointed out the common misconceptions :)

61. 8 things you should not do during Eidul Fitri. | Irsyadee - August 5, 2013

[…] By the way, you need to know who are your Mahrams!! Read about it here. […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

